Ur wonna dem audio files, ain’t yas?

When I think “audiophile”, I think the under-bridge dwelling trolls on the Audiokarma forums who periodically pop their heads up with killer answers to impossible questions. You know, the ones who have forgotten more about vintage audio than I’ve forgotten while on Heineken. These (mostly) gentlemen are the true audiophiles—to them, I tip my pork-pie hat.

Full Disclosure: I’m just some guy with a nifty vintage audio story by way of a groovy legacy. I just love music. Everything I’ve learned about silver-era Pioneer gear has been from someone else, via numerous rounds of trial and error, or by some nearly horrible accident (usually while on Heineken).

It’s for this reason that it still catches me off guard when someone accuses me of being—in this particular case—an “audio file”.

Hence, I was caught off guard when I was recently tapped for some advice. Some person I’d never met asked an acquaintance of mine if he [acquaintance] knew anyone who knew anyone who wanted a pair of prized speakers he’d [some person I’d never met] had in storage since the late ’80s. As a bonus, they [speakers] were stored in a climate controlled location—important in these frosty/muggy parts—in the original boxes. And this point is key, since few ’70s-era speaker boxes ever survived the day the speakers were unboxed. No one in the ’70s ever envisioned a day four decades later when anyone would covet the cardboard boxes that originally encased their speakers. More importantly, they never envisioned said speakers surviving 40 years.

My acquaintance, who toils mainly in the realm of high-end home theater, didn’t know anyone. He did, however, know me. And thanks to my Insta feed, he posited that I may know a thing or two.

He’d been duped.

Unfortunately, about these particular speakers, I knew exactly nothing other than JBL made some sweet speakers. Start peppering me with JBL model numbers, and I’m lost after L100.

Also unfortunately, as a reformed Buddhist, I’m impelled to always try and help my fellow space travelers—no matter what. I mean, if you reach out, I HAVE to respond. This is just how IT works. So, after a very brief email introduction, I dove in headfirst.

None of this is particularly interesting—I realize this. And my intent on sharing this is not for entertainment. Instead, this is a cautionary tale for the rest of you would-be audio files out there.

Just say (I don’t) “No.”

I wrestled with altering the email transaction that ensued. Ultimately, I decided to naught. To protect the innocent, names have been changed (to my college roommates and friends). Since I’m guilty, my name appears as it originally did.

Here it is, in all of it’s gory…I mean glory…

Sent: Tuesday, November 9, 2021 7:19 PM
From: Matt Schloss
To: Eric Neudecker
Subject: Audio File Referral
Hi Eric, do you have a referral for me?
Sincerely,
Matt Schloss

Sent: Wednesday, November 10, 2021 2:19 PM
From: Eric Neudecker
To: Matt Schloss
Cc: blake@blakedonley.com
Subject: Re: Audio File Referral
Thanks for the reminder – I did hear back from Blake Donley who I copied onto this email. Blake meet Matt, Matt meet Blake. Matt has some vintage JBL speakers he needs advice on.

Sent: Thursday, November 11, 2021 6:22 AM
From: Matt Schloss
To: Blake Donley
Subject: Re: Audio File Referral
Hello Blake,
Good morning. As noted below, Eric Neudecker had mentioned to me that you have knowledge of the vintage stereo equipment world and that you may be able to provide me with someone who may have interest or the best way to divest of my vintage JBL 4315 Studio Monitors. See attached files.


I’m almost 71 years old and I purchased these speakers back in the “Day”, about 1979, when I was a bit wild, to say the least. The speakers have been stored in their original boxes since about 1989 and I’m finally getting around to finding the best source and simplest way to sell them. Over the years I have seen these devices sell for large amounts on Ebay.


I would appreciate speaking with you and or receiving your advice and thoughts. Thank you.
Sincerely,
Matt Schloss

Here is where I made my colossal mistake. I assumed people actually read emails. This is not true. No one reads anything anymore!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sent: Thursday, November 11, 2021 8:21 AM
From: Blake Donley
To: Matt Schloss
Subject: Re: Audio File Referral
Hey Matt,
Very cool that you are the original owner and you still have the original boxes! I don’t know much about JBL speakers specifically, I do know of their legendary status in the pantheon of vintage speakers.

While I appreciate Eric offering me as an “expert”, I deal exclusively in vintage Pioneer stereo equipment. I’ve amassed quite the collection over the years, so all of my “audiophile” knowledge comes via wheeling and dealing in Pioneer stuff.

That said, the places that you think to use as a gauge for determining the value of these speakers are actually the ones most folks use for that purpose (and to sell).

eBay is probably the best place to get an idea of value, as it remains the world’s largest marketplace. The vast majority of vintage gear changes hands on eBay.

Reverb.com is another that trends toward higher-end (and higher-priced) gear. I’ve personally never purchased anything on Reverb, but it’s a fun place to window shop.

Finally, https://www.usaudiomart.com is another one. I’ve never used it, however.

Honestly, for something like these speakers, Facebook Marketplace and Craigslist Minneapolis are probably the best place to sell.

Luckily, the Twin Cities is a very robust vintage audio market due to the rich history of consumer electronics start-ups. Shaak Electronics, which would later become Best Buy, DLK Speakers, which is now Midwest Speaker, and the Needle Doctor, were all operating simultaneously for nearly a decade. All were considered pioneers of sorts in their unique arenas. As a result, there are still “old audio guys” all over the place up here that appreciate high-end gear like your speakers. Let’s just say, you’ll have a much easier time selling these up here than many other cities.

As far as value, it’s really about finding the right person willing to pay what you want to get. But, you probably already knew that.

Right now, someone has a pair on Reverb for $4,499: https://reverb.com/item/33961919-jbl-4315-pair-studio-monitor-speakers

A pair recently sold on eBay for $2,450, but it looks like they’ve been relisted: Jbl 4315 Studio Monitors Consecutive Serial numbers | eBay

That said, I’d be very wary of selling these where any manner of shipping is involved. Plus, eBay (not sure about Reverb) takes 13% right off the top for your full sales & shipping price. I’d guess Reverb is similar. You can even try Etsy, but I don’t believe much vintage gear changes hands there, and their commission is similar.

If I were you, I’d first unpack these beauties and test them out. Mach sure the surrounds are in tact (no refoaming needed) and make sure each driver is producing sound. The first thing a buyer will do is to put his ear to each of the woofers and tweeters.

If everything checks out, take 10 really great photos (good lighting is key). Facebook Marketplace only allows 10 photos (CL allows 24).

List these on both Minneapolis Craigslist and Facebook Marketplace. In the description mention “Cross posted”. This adds a titch of urgency. Neither FB or CL take any commission, and you can demand a cash-only transaction. If you take an electronic payment (Venmo, Zelle, PayPal, etc) ONLY do this at the time of sale while the buyer is there with you.

OfferUp.com is another for free listing local classifieds. It gets much less traffic than FB or CL, but it never hurts to list there since it’s free. I’ve purchased an item or two from OfferUp.

You can always do an eBay listing and offer local pickup only. By doing this, you’ll get global exposure, rather than just local exposure. The problem is that if you sell them via eBay, you lose 13% of the final sale price. I once listed a pair of Pioneer HPM-100s on FB, CL and eBay (local pickup). Unfortunately, they sold to a dude in Duluth on eBay. So rather than getting $600 cash, I ended up with $522.

The reason I’d avoid shipping these, is that invariably something goes awry when you ship speakers. I could tell you a million stories. And even if you pay FedEx or UPS to “professionally” package them, they tend to do a haphazard job. You are much better off if you package them yourself (if shipping them is something you want to venture).

Plus, in today’s “supply chain” challenged climate, shipping is going to be steep. I sell a lot on eBay and shipping between USPS/UPS/FedEx varies more wildly than the daily changes in the stock market or gasoline. You can always build the shipping into the price (or change a steep shipping fee), but this just makes the overall package more expensive for the buyer, and you pay the 13% commission on both the sales price and the shipping fee.

Ultimately, it would be tragic if these were damaged in transit.

A third option is to call Midwest Speaker (they are in Roseville). Ask them if they do consignment. I think on a pair of these, they might. But again, you are going to make less than if you sell them yourself. But, if you don’t want the hassle, these dudes are THE BEST! I’ve used them numerous times for repairs. They are all very cool and willing to chat about speakers. If you find your speakers need any manner of repair before you list them, do not hesitate to take them to Midwest Speaker!

If I were you, I’d cross-post these on Facebook Marketplace, Craigslist, and OfferUp–all have Twin CIties specific marketplaces. Since someone has set the current top market price of $4,500 (a company in Madison, WI who listed on Reverb), I’d undercut them by at least $250. Typically if I wanted say, $4,000 for these, I’d list them for $4,250 and hope to negotiate no lower than $4,000 (or something like that).
There is no sense in listing them more than $4,500, as any potential buyer could easily drive to Madison to but the pair off Reverb.

If you take my advice, be prepared for all manner of insane offers. Within days, you’ll probably receive a number of offers for $2,000. It is inevitable. You’ll also get a number of offers from scammers to PayPal you more than your listing price if you will “hold them for their shipping agent”. Obviously, ignore these (and any PayPal offer where the person is not willing to meet you in-person).

These probably won’t sell quickly (unless you are willing to take $2,000), as there just aren’t that many folks shopping for $4,000 speakers at any given time. Hell, it took me three months to sell my HPM-100s, and I was only asking $600.

Over time, you’ll get an idea of the market price here in the twin cities based on the offers you receive. And maybe the market is $3,500? Or, $2,750? I honestly don’t know–there is just not a lot of precedent to go off of at this time.

If you want an actual expert opinion, you can go to AudioKarma.org. Sign up for a free account. Find the section for valuation of JBL speakers. And post a few photos asking for a best guess on value. Only the most snooty of the pretentious audiophiles hang out on AudioKarma. You’ll likely get some opinions rather quickly. You may or may not be happy with said opinions.

This appears to be the right section to post that question ( Home Forums > AudioKarma Audio Marketplace > Dollars and Sense): https://audiokarma.org/forums/index.php?threads/good-price-for-jbl-4315.495208/

All it’s missing is a horn! But then even at that price they’re less than half the price of most any other 43xx 4-way system. And they’ve been hovering around that price for many years, never gaining the respect of their “horny” big brothers.

Please note that this thread is from 2013, so prices have undoubtedly appreciated in the near decade since. But it gives you an idea of where you could garner a few “expert” opinions on the market value of these (if you are so inclined).

That’s my best advice for you. I hope you get what you want for these beauties.

Good luck!

Predictably, Matt read none of this. He actually wanted no advice. He wanted two things, well actually one: a cash offer. In lieu of that, he wanted someone to consign these for him. He never wanted to sell them himself.

I received this in response…

Sent: Thursday, November 11, 2021 8:21 AM
From: Matt Schloss
To: Blake Donley
Subject: Re: Audio File Referral
Hey Blake,
Thanks for getting back to me. Do you know if there’s a local venue that sells equipment like this on consignment?

LOF’ingL!!! Stupid Buddhism!!!

Anyway, if you are an audio file like me, just enjoy your groovy gear. Don’t start an Insta account to collect those dopamine hits. I promise you, it’s not worth it. If you are in the hobby for Insta likes, just become an Insta model—it’s waaaaaaaaaaaaay cheaper (and potentially more profitable).

Otherwise, rock on!


Copyright © 2021 – ∞ Blake Charles Donley

One thought on “Ur wonna dem audio files, ain’t yas?

  1. Pingback: Bi-amp-ual | Waxing Phonographic

Leave a comment